Harpoon Leviathan Imperial IPA gets a B

Totally amateur unqualified review, because I need to feel productive about my drinking. Guilt is a wonderful motivator.

BeerAdvocate link: http://ow.ly/2GA8t

This was a beer I had on-tap early in my BeerQuest. 8/12/2010… so on the 2nd or 3rd day. Long before I learned a taste for hops balanced with maltiness. There’s also some citrus in this one somewhere, and some type of other sweetness, but when I had it I gave it a B- right off, simply based on it being an IIPA.

Appearance: Copper, amber, translucent.

Smell: Hoppy like a well done IPA should.

Taste: Hops, a little malt, something sweet. But mostly hops.

Mouthfeel: Medium body.

Drinkability: I have a feeling I’d come back to this in the future because although I had an initial dislike, that would probably be tempered by the softening of my anti-IPA bias. Still, with such a high abv it can’t be a repeater.

Serving type: on-tap

Reviewed on: 09-19-2010 22:24:26

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Beers

Leave a Reply

