Review: @CigarCityBeer Does a Sea Bass: B+

Two review prefaces: I’m a total amateur, and I don’t much like the saison/farmhouse style.

That said, when I heard they were celebrating the release of this during NYC Beer Week at Rattle N’ Hum, I pretty much ran from class. Huge fan of CCB.

I got a pour from a bomber bottle into a 8oz-ish snifter. It’s dark brown with a reddish hue around the edges at the bottom and has a little bit of graininess to it. There’s a sour aroma that’s pretty inviting, and the first sip echoes that. There’s a lemon lime tartness going on in the middle, and that meets a sweetness. It has a solid medium body, but it’s not too heavy. By the end of the sip it finishes clean but with “some funk” (thanks aepb1, I didn’t know how to describe it). That funk ultimately turned me off to it and lowered its drinkability for me, but there’s no question it’s a complex and complete brew. Props to Cigar City!

BA Link: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/17981/62206/?ba=afksports

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Beers

Leave a Reply

