Review: Great Divide Old Ruffian Barleywine Tickles the Wrong Tastebuds

Started off a great evening like a good high abv barleywine should. Unfortunately, that’s about where it stopped for me. But it’s a Top100, so I’m keepin’ on truckin’! This is a repost of my BA review which I did on the phone at the bar.

Being an amateur, and given that the bros give this an A, I feel compelled not to rip this. Primarily because it seems I’d stand alone. That said, I just don’t like it. I’m drinking it on tap right now at Ginger Man in midtown NYC (2009, they said they aged it).

It looks great in my snifter, and if that were the only assessment this would be a winner. The nice head to begin the pour sits at about a finger above the the red orange hue with lacing throughout. It smells of pine, some hops and citrus.

The taste starts off strong with malt and sweetness. In the middle it exhibits something toasty, maybe a little fruity. In the end there’s a soap hoppy bitterness (more soap than hop) that sticks on your tongue. I’ll give it props for lasting, and it sure seems complex, but I don’t have to like it. In fact, I want to wipe my tongue and mouth off. The finish reminds me of the end of my GD BelgIca pours. Maybe it’s something in the Colorado water. I’ll have to ask Coors!

For that reason, drinkability is low for me, although if this is your thing, it’s a truly smooth brew for the abv and the category. As for me and Great Divide, I think I’ll stick to my Yeti.

Leave a comment

Filed under BeerQuest

Leave a comment