Review: Rogue 21

Drink Date: 11/3/2010
Review Date: 11/3/2010
Grade B+ (4 out of 5)

Rogue 21 makes me feel like I am 21 again. Mostly because I didn’t eat dinner beforehand. I’m drinking it on tap at Blind Tiger at a “Very Special Keg Day” and I can’t help but give it higher marks because I feel special drinking it. It’s a special blend with 21 hops, 21 malts, distributed only in 21 locations — one of those special beer type deals.

And therein might lie the problem I have with it. While all the elements are well done, there’s nothing truly exceptional about the brew. The blend works. It’s a dark ruby brown body, decent head, figgy-sweet with thick malt aroma, and a sugary malty taste. It’s medium bodied, nicely carbonated, and it drinks slowly – which it should at 8%.

Ultimately, I guess I have to evaluate this as a fun to drink, but non-exceptional brew that I would redrink in a second but not necessarily rave about.

BA Link: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/132/60333/?ba=afksports

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Beers

Leave a Reply

