Review: Cigar City Brewing Marshal Zhukov’s Imperial Stout

Drink Date: 11/17/2010
Review Date: 11/17/2010
Grade: A+ (4.85 out of 5)
Top100: #9

Woo! Cigar City. This one uses the same recipe as the old Hunahpu’s recipe, so in a way, it’s a Top 100. I’ll count it, but I’ll still say I have to drink the Hunahpu’s. I had this while I was trying to fight an illness that eventually knocked me out of work the next day. On to the review…

I’ve had this on cask, and tap twice, but most recently on tap so that’s what we’re going with. Had it at the CCB event at Blind Tiger on 11/17. Some crap post nasal drip had me tackled, so I was only able to enjoy this and the Peach IPA. Argh, Novemberrr!

It pours a thick black with a dark tan/brown, almost khaki and red head. The finger thing stuff dissipates and leaves not much lacing, but keeps some decent legs. It’s pitch black. No wonder the Germans couldn’t beat this guy. They couldn’t see. The smell is just as fantastic, with coffee, espresso and chocolate predominating. Burnt notes are there, caramel, toffee. Taste is out of this world too. Everything that’s in the nose is in the drink, plus a sweetness that covers the booze.

It feels great going down, with the only knock being that there’s not much variation on the velvety smoothness. I will drink as many of these as I can get my hands on. While I’m still standing.

And if November colds don’t get in the way.

BA Link: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/17981/45973/?ba=afksports

Leave a comment

Filed under BeerQuest, The Beers

Leave a Reply

