Review: Ballast Point Sculpin India Pale Ale

Drink Date: September?
Review Date: 11/19/2010 (from notes)
Grade: A+ (4.6 out of 5)
Top100: #20

I drank this fine brew back when I was starting my quest to drink the top100. This review is from notes, but I almost don’t need them because the memory sits so well in my head. I think I still taste it.

The appearance is like many other IPA’s, golden to orange, fairly clear, lots of rich head. The smell blows you away with hops and citrus. The taste does the same. And then it sits on your tongue. And sits. You can go eat a sandwich, come back, no more sipping needed, still have the hop profile there. The only maltiness is at the start, with a bit of caramel, and the rest just carries the hops through. Forever.

The carbonation is great and its medium body drinks well. I’m not a huge fan of the hops myself, so although the taste is exceptional for me, the drinkability gets a small notch down. Overall though, this is a pretty ridiculous beer.

I even looked up Sculpin on Wikipedia. Because this beer teaches us things.

BA Link: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/199/29619/?ba=afksports

Leave a comment

Filed under BeerQuest

Leave a Reply

