Review: Deschutes Abyss #beer

Rating: B+

Thanks to CooperEllis for sharing this bottle with me at a recent tasting and helping me knock #4 off August’s Top100! We got lucky tasting a non-infected 2009 vintage bottle about a week before the "best after" date.

This baby is pitch black. And it’s got the most incredible lacing and legs I’ve seen in a while. You could drink a glass of this, come back 20 minutes later, and you’d have another ounce in your glass. It’s boozy though, and that comes through in the smell. But the licorice comes first and is followed by a mix of complex stuff that I’m not equipped to describe. I wrote down "anise" in my notes. That’s gotta be there. Because it’s sure in the taste. Almost too much. I’m in love with Good ‘n’ Plenty’s, and probably will be for a while, but this one womped me with licorice.

That said, it’s probably one of the most complex ones I’ve tasted in a while, and it took a half bottle to get any type of read on what my palate should expect. It’s a full-bodied brew that’s mainly a sipper. One on special occasions seems just about right.

Serving type: bottle

Reviewed on: 11-25-2010 18:32:58

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

