Review: Stone Imperial Russian Stout (2008) #beer

Overall: A+ / 4.55
look: 4.5 | smell: 5 | taste: 4.5 | feel: 5 | overall: 4

Early on in my life I saw a bottle of Stone Arrogant Bastard, while purchasing some Yuengling probably, and thought to myself "Damn, that brewery is so full of itself. I’ll never drink that." And then I matured, had their RIS, and my mind was blown. This review is from notes.

It’s another one that’s pitch black. Tan head. Stout. There’s a tinge of fruit in the smell, but it’s mostly coffee and chocolate maltiness. It swallows the same, but the bitter of the chocolate comes out along with the alcohol. Every element of the taste is in great balance. It’s thick and full-bodied, and that – along with the alcohol – lowers its drinkability.

But who am I kidding? This is great. Plus Stone makes it affordably, which should be its own rating when it comes to lots of RIS’s on here. It’s just as good as these other hard to find ones. Does it blow my mind? No. But they damn well have a right to be arrogant.

Serving type: bottle

Reviewed on: 11-26-2010 13:54:58

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

