Great Divide Oak Aged Yeti Imperial Stout

22oz. bottle date 10/5/2009 poured into my Founders snifter.

Oak Aged Yeti is a lot like Yeti (surprised?). It’s strong like my anger at the Chicago Bears after scoring on the Philadelphia Eagles right now while I drink it. But not so strong that the Bears will win (banking on that, don’t trust this review if the Bears win).

It’s black with a tan head that’s almost soapy on the initial pour. Fantastic lacing and great legs. This is how an RIS should look. The smell doesn’t have as much roasty malts as the regular style, and I imagine that the oak cuts that while adding an oaky subtlety. What comes out a little bit more are the hops. That happens with the taste too. It’s just as big in the mouth, and just as drinkable. The weird finish – a soapiness maybe – that hits me on every Great Divide beer sticks with this one as well, and because there’s fewer roasted malts to overwhelm the back of the palate, that feel is more prominent.

Ultimately, I can’t really see this being a top RIS for me. Just like I can’t see the Bears winning. But it’s 14-3 right now, so maybe I’m wrong.


Stats:
Grade: B
look: 4.5 | smell: 4 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 4 | overall: 3.5
Reviewed on: 11/28/2010
http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/158/19216/?ba=afksports

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

